I don’t remember where I learned it. I suppose, in reality, it was more lived than learned. It just seems like it was always there, was always a fact and always worked. Apparently, it’s a belief that goes back much further than my generation or my parent’s generation because, as I have spoken with people over the years, it seems to be common knowledge among mountain people.

The Scripture is Ezekiel Chapter 16, verse 6And when I passed by thee, and saw thee polluted in thine own blood, I said unto thee when thou wast in thy blood, Live; yea, I said unto thee when thou wast in thy blood, Live.

As far as I know, saying this verse over anyone who is hemorrhaging will stop the blood flow, you just have to be a believer. I have witnessed this working on nosebleeds, cuts and more and have recited the verse over my own daughter when her nose was bleeding at a steady stream and it stopped almost immediately. I’ve never heard much history on the belief though, other than to just KNOW that it works.

I’ve also heard many, many stories about it working on farm animals as well, but have no personal recollections that anything like that has ever worked for anyone close in our family. I did happen to read about it on a website called Appalachian History where it is called “The Blood Verse” and attributed to Hillbilly Witchcraft. I’ve never heard that aspect of it, nor have I heard that “the gift” has to be passed from a man, to a woman, to a man, and back to a woman, and so forth. As a matter of fact, if my grandmother had even remotely thought that someone was coming from witchcraft, she would have distanced herself as far as possible from that person and whatever it was they were trying to teach her.

No, I believe this to be truth faith.

Of course, there is MUCH debate about faith related issues, so this certainly won’t escape it either, however, arguing or “debating” about these things is ultimately useless. To someone who DOES believe, you simply can’t take that away from them. And those that don’t, probably never will. I suppose that’s the way it should be. Everyone has a right to believe what they feel right in their heart to believe, and I won’t try to argue that with anyone.

However, I’m certainly not putting this up for cause to debate. I’m sure there are many who know nothing about it. I’m simply putting this up as one of the “old time” things I remember from my childhood. Maybe someone else remembers it too 🙂

